Join Me as I go

20131103-210650.jpg
My join works. πŸ™‚ I am absolutely sure I have not reinvented the wheel here. But I admit My blankets usually suffer the same fate. My first finished blanket was typical of the 70s and early 80s. There was a row of v stitch and a row of a 3 dc group. it took me years to drag out and finish.

Seems I rarely had time to lug it out once I was in the first 1/4 of the way. So, since I always loved Grannies, I switched to motifs. But if I continue to be honest, I usually make about 2/3 the required motifs, think about the insurmountable task of joining and throw in the towel. That leaves me with a pile of motifs I move around as coasters, offer up as doll rugs, or hide in shame.

The Seeing Stars had a join specified. I don’t think I did the correct join, but it worked. And it is repairable. So I decided I would do the same basic join with the Grannies.

But for those curious how my colors look in squares, there’s my first few squares. I promise to try to update as there are more.

For those who may he new to crochet or blankets, and fear joining, I have the following suggestions for your consideration.

1. Weave in your ends as you go. Maybe that’s obvious. I don’t recall being taught that. But I was in elementary school and a lady in the neighborhood was willing to teach me, so who knows. Maybe I didn’t listen to the details. πŸ˜‰

2. I make piles of motifs 1 row short of completion. I did this with my Seeing Stars. It keeps the project super portable and I find it goes faster.

3. Do a crocheted join. I substituted a sc in the neighboring Ch1 on the other granny instead of the Ch in the last row of my Granny. Easy peasy, the last row and the motif is joined in one easy step. And if I ever need to repair a square, it can join back in easily enough. I could have fiddle with a square on the other side, but still very doable. I think a sl st would be less obvious and make repairs easier, but I like the sc. I am sure there are other forms of this by people better with crochet than I am. Google is probably your friend there. πŸ™‚

But for now, I am moving forward.

About Just Nancy

I knit, crochet, love color, love life.
This entry was posted in Crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

