Darned Pretty Oak

20120409-120310.jpg

I enjoy DyakCraft needles. I admit, partly because of the lovely color choices. I don’t like dark colors or certain metallics like green. So, I love being able to choose.

Another thing most who know me know I like color, glass, fiber, flowers, friends and much more. I do not like cleaning, organizing, or most domestic duties.

This morning I took my car to the body shop. Then I walked. Visited with friends and husband over a late breakfast. At home I played with the dog, decided to give her a bath, and then dusted.

Then, I decided to post here and then put a receipt in a box on our old church pew. (This is going some where, at least in my mind.). Something caught my eye. Is that a splinter? How would the pew splinter? No one is here to ask.  I don’t want to mess up the back of the pew.  (It is from the church we were married in.  And I sit on it to  look out at my humming birds and knit.)  But I’m really curious.  I reach in the space at the back of the seat, between the back and the cushion the church added in a renovation decades ago.  No.  Not a splinter.  It is one of my oak knitting needles…..a laminate.  It completely blended in possibly since last time I was knitting there watching my birds.  (I do clean more than that.  I had just never seen it.)

So for those who avoid a laminate solely because you like the look of wood, I post my story. And my needle on a different oak table. It is possibly a different oak then they offer now. But I don’t think you can go wrong with their wood tones, if you prefer a more traditional look. 😉

I’m sure you can tell, not the one on the knitting.  That was there from the last pix, about my flying pig.  (I posted these only about 45 minutes apart.)  It is in the space between the two leaves of the table.    It isn’t as close of a match as to the oak used for the old pew, but I think it shows as fairly natural.  🙂

About Just Nancy

I knit, crochet, love color, love life.
This entry was posted in Tools and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darned Pretty Oak

  1. I have not heard of these needlels … I will need to check them out. I think I sort of am stuck on my favs over the last couple of decades – Addi Turbos – tho I know there are LOTS more out now!

    • Just Nancy says:

      I used to use Addi Turbos. I was really disappointed when my lace ones and a few of the Turbos corroded and pitted to the point they really are useless. My mistake for not storing them in their bags. (Or so I was told.)

      I do love these needles. But with the boom in popularity and hand made nature, they are serious they take months….as in up to part of a year, to order. Seems crazy. But you don’t have to pay in advance so that helps those who are concerned about ordering.

Leave a Reply

