Is a picture worth a 1,000 words?

I am feeling I will forever be a rebel at Ravelry.  I am not sure I want to put my pictures on Flickr.   So for now I’ll link them here.  Maybe that will work.  Here is a pink baby set I did and the blue is just barely visable in the top left.

Small Pink set

Also here is a picture of some of my stitch markers.

Random Stitch Markers

I’ve done a lot of things I’ve never taken a picture of.   But if I start is it worth opening a Flickr account?  I’d love to hear what you think.

About Just Nancy

I knit, crochet, love color, love life.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Tools. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is a picture worth a 1,000 words?

  1. Margie says:

    IMHO, it is totally worth opening a Flickr account so you can put pics on your Ravelry projects. Of course, I have almost 50 projects…

    One reason to use Flickr is, if you don’t have pics on your projects, they won’t show up when somebody searches the pattern, unless they click the “show picture-less” button.

    Another reason is, when you’re looking for a specific project (to edit it or show someone), it’s a lot easier to find–in thumbnail mode, anyway–if it has a pic.

    Granted, uploading onto Flickr takes forever! But then, my dad says uploading at all takes forever.

    If you have a free Yahoo e-mail account, like I do, you already have a Flickr account. Log into Flickr with your Yahoo ID, fill in some profile info, and start uploading!

  2. justnancy says:

    Thanks for the info. I don’t have a yahoo account. I have several tied to my website and have a hard time keeping track as is. I did find out I can include them somehow at Ravelry, but I think you are right, not in a thumbnail. Maybe I’ll just stick it out that way because I can control the images and I don’t have that many pictures of finished objects. Most I gift about as soon as they are done. But if I get my act together and start taking pictures of projects, maybe I’ll get a Flickr account.

Leave a Reply

